Cat won't let us sleep!

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
Rebecca1992
New Cat Chatter

Cat won't let us sleep!

Post by Rebecca1992 »

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Cat Chat, as my partner and I only adopted our cat a couple of months ago. He's a year and a half old, has been neutered and everything, and is super sweet, playful and affectionate – but we're having some problems with him at night.

He meow and scratches on our bedroom door until we let him in – sometimes he even hurls himself at the door so hard we're afraid he'll wake the neighbours! When we do give in and let him into the bedroom, he prances around the room, jumping on and off high shelves, knocking everything over, etc. So either way, we can't get any sleep!

Has anyone experienced this before, and what did you do to help your cat calm down? Thank you!
alanc
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 1

Re: Cat won't let us sleep!

Post by alanc »

Leave the door open, so kitty has unfettered access, doesn't get hyped up and can let the excess energy of early! (Well, it works with Tilly most of the time.)
Rubirabbit
Frequent Cat Chatter

Post by Rubirabbit »