Adopting Cat with Cat Flu?

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
Tiny3003
Frequent Cat Chatter

Adopting Cat with Cat Flu?

Post by Tiny3003 »

Hi Guys,

Looking to re-home a cat and the one I have been looking at is getting over cat flu. She has been vet checked, neutered last Friday and is just finishing off a course of antibiotics. Her foster carer says she is responding well and is well on the mend. They are happy to keep her until her antibiotics are finished just in case she needs more (which they will sort). They think she was a farm cat as nobody has claimed her as lost. They think around 1-2 years old and probably had at least four litters as her uterus is very big.

I don't have any cats so no risk of passing it on although I would possibly like to introduce a youngster later on (say April/May). I have no experience with cat flu so would like to know whether there might be any issues further down the line?
Janey
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 1

Re: Adopting Cat with Cat Flu?

Post by Janey »

Hi and welcome. I’m not sure, although we have adopted older snuffly cats, and been told they must have had cat flu when they were younger, and they have mixed with our other cat we had at the time and there’s been no problem. The rescue we adopted from has never said don’t adopt if you have another cat. The best thing though is to ask the rescue and or your vet, so that you know in advance, that’s what I would do. Best of luck.
Tiny3003
Frequent Cat Chatter

Post by Tiny3003 »

Hi Janey

Thanks for coming back to me. Have done a bit of research and also asked a vet I know. They can sometimes be left a bit snuffly but am told they shouldn't need any more meds. She really has had a rubbish start to life so hoping that she likes us and comes home with us so watch this space!
Janey
VIP Cat Chatter!

Post by Janey »

That’s good news, do let us know how you get on :)
MissBlackCat