Had to say goodbye to our Beautiful Boy

Help & Support for those who have lost a beloved cat
BobbiRobbie
Frequent Cat Chatter
No. of cats in household: 0

Had to say goodbye to our Beautiful Boy

Post by BobbiRobbie »

Hi everyone, it's my first time here.

My husband and I had to make the heartbreaking decision to have our beautiful cat Charlie put to sleep yesterday. Not the start to 2018 that we expected.

I got him as a rescue cat in 2009, so we're unsure exactly how old he was, but we think he was about 13/14 years old when he passed.

He'd been diagnosed with kidney dysfunction in late 2015 and had high calcium in his blood. They also found he had FIV. After over a year of tests the vets couldn't find out what was causing the high calcium, so Charlie continued on his medication and his kidney diet as there was nothing else that could be done. In recent months he'd put on weight and seemed much more settled. We spent Christmas and New Year's eve together and no real signs of anything. He'd let out a couple of "weird" meows recently but he did that sometimes anyway. He'd had the odd moment of almost losing his balance when he shook his ears as he had wax build-up and this irritated him. He had a little bed in our downstairs bathroom next to the radiator that he'd taken a liking to sleeping on; not all the time but I noticed it and thought he might just like getting away from our lively little dog.

I've been beating myself up that I missed something, as looking back these were probably all signs he wasn't well. But he'd been to the vets not even two weeks ago for some antibiotics as he had the sniffles. We told the vet about his wobbles and she checked his heart and temperature etc and all was fine. She cleaned his ears too.