Cats weight

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
Abbi Paquin
Returning Cat Chatter

Cats weight

Post by Abbi Paquin »

Hi! This is my first time posting and I'm having a lot of difficulty with one of my cats.

Over the years he has gained so much weight. It kind of just happened really fast after we moved in with my husband four years ago. He is now 30lbs. I have gone to the vet every 6-8 months for checkups and weigh ins every couple months. He is on a diet and calorie approved by the vet (orijen grain free fit and trim). I have tried the prescription food but neither cat has done well on it, both like this one. I try to exercise/play with him for at least 10-20 minutes a day but all he does is either stare at me or swat with his arm. He doesn't move around, he is forced to climb the stairs but clearly looks like he has trouble, in the non winter times he has supervised time in the outside patio to wander around in. And yet he is not losing weight, he keeps gaining or staying in the 30lbs. He did recently get bloodwork done but I'm waiting on the results. He does have the start of arthritis. His fur gets super matted if I don't brush it every other day and I also have to clean his butt a few times a week.