Can Stage 2 Kidney Disease Be Managed And Prescription Question

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
Spartacus123
Frequent Cat Chatter

Can Stage 2 Kidney Disease Be Managed And Prescription Question

Post by Spartacus123 »

Hi,

Last year my 16 year old cat was diagnosed with stage 2 kidney disease. She is super stubborn and hates all renal dry and wet food. She does love Royal Canine 12+ dry food and she sticks to Friskies wet food. Her diet isn't great but it's better than it was.

She had follow up blood tests last week and her results are back in the normal range. I thought it was not possible to reverse stage 2 just manage it. Obviously I'm no expert and would be happy to be proven wrong.

Also, I'm in the Middle East and the vet wrote out a prescription for Methimazole Transdermal Gel. I can't get a vet to give me the meds in the US as they have to be registered there. Does anyone know a vet that would accept an overseas prescription ideally in the UK as I'm back home shortly.

TIA
booktigger
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 3

Re: Can Stage 2 Kidney Disease Be Managed And Prescription Question

Post by booktigger »

With diet and/or medication, kidney values certainly can reduce. You've mentioned kidney disease, but methimazole is for thyroid function, if she has both, treating thyroid normally makes kidney function worse, as the increased blood flow with thyroid disease helps kidney function
Spartacus123
Frequent Cat Chatter

Post by Spartacus123 »

Thank you. Yes, she has thyroid issues too. I'll talk to my vet about it. They didn't mention the thyroid meds would make her kidney disease worse. It would make life more pleasant for both of us if Methimazole was stopped as she hates the medication and at least half is spat out and found later in random places :D
Mollycat
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 1

Post by Mollycat »