Cat Litter Issues

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
sarie
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 3

Cat Litter Issues

Post by sarie »

Hey guys, I'm not sure whether or not anyone can help me with this as it's not a totally straight forward question.

My cat Harvey has Asthma caused by allergies so I had to change his litter to a dust free litter - he was previously using standard clumping clay litter and this was very dusty. Due to his allergies, he can't have litters that use corn, wheat, pine, cedar and he can't have dusty litters.

I researched and found an absolutely amazing litter called "Dr Elsey's Precious Cat Ultra Litter". I've been using it for about 4 months and although a little expensive, it's absolutely ideal. I don't like litters that don't clump so this was perfect as it clumps very well, is 99% dust free, the odour control is the best I've ever come across and it's similar to the previous clay litters I was using so wasn't too much of a change for the cats.

However, it would seem that nobody in the UK is stocking this anymore - in just a few months the couple of places selling it seem to have run out of stock and haven't had any more in. I found a seller on ebay but even she is now out of stock. The only places selling it now are in the US and all have silly shipping fees due to weight so it looks like unless this comes back into stock I'm going to have to find a more readily available alternative.

So... any recommendations? Are Silica litters any good? I don't know anything about them...
I'm not keen to try a newspaper litter as I can't see how it can possibly clump or control odour and it'd be a pretty major change in texture for the cats. Most natural litters are out as they all contain allergens or dust. Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelp :)

Thanks!

Sarah
MarkB
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 4

Re: Cat Litter Issues

Post by MarkB »