My 3 legged cat

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
Kerry123
New Cat Chatter
No. of cats in household: 3

My 3 legged cat

Post by Kerry123 »

Hello every 1 I'm new to this so I'm hoping I'm doing this right :D
About 3 wks ago my cat was run over and as a result she sadly had to have her left hind leg and her tail amputated
How thankfully she had recovered well and is already doing most of the things she did before the accident
Altho recently we have noticed she has episodes where it seems she can't use the remaining back leg and as result she either struggles to move and becomes very distressed or she moves in circles going backwards until she regains the use then is able to carry on as normal
I have mentioned it to the vet and thy said there is nothing wrong with her leg but may need to do blood tests to investigate further
I was just wondering if any 1 has got an experience of this and knows what it could be
Any advice welcome
geckodiva
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 2

Re: My 3 legged cat

Post by geckodiva »

Sorry to hear about your girl but glad that she is doing well. I too have a rear left amputee. She had her leg removed at the hip when she was very young, now 2.5 years old. You don't say how old your cat is but one thing maybe troubling her is confusion and frustration if she is still subconsciously still trying to use the missing limb. I know my girl sometimes gets out of step with herself because she wants to lean or turn on the missing leg. She also gets an itchy left ear and if she is laid down you can see her left hip twitching as if she was using the back leg to scratch the itch. My girl still has a full tail and so uses this to help with balance so this would be another disadvantage for your cat.
Kerry123
New Cat Chatter

Post by Kerry123 »

Hi
She as just turned 3 and se also as it removed from her hip