My Cat isn't accepting new kitten.

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
Luna Suki
Returning Cat Chatter

My Cat isn't accepting new kitten.

Post by Luna Suki »

Hello eveyone I'm new to this page but looking for some advice.

I have a 2 year old Cat called Luna. I decided to adopt a 12 week old Kitten Suki 6 weeks ago. I took everyone's advice when it came to introducing them that I should just leave them too it and not to seperate them as it can make things worse.

So 6 weeks on and Luna isn't accepting Suki, she's still growling at her and trying to claw her (never actully gets her and Suki doesn't seem sacred of her). Luna behaviour has changed too, she rarely wants strokes from me. she spends most of the time outside and only comes in for food. I've started to lock Suki in another room while Luna is in the house so she can spend sometime inside without the kitty bothering her. I'm hoping when Suki is spayed (in a couple of weeks time) and she can go outside things will improve.

Any advice on how to help them get along would be great!
Lilith
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 1

Re: My Cat isn't accepting new kitten.

Post by Lilith »

Hi and welcome :)

Oh dear. I confess I've usually done the same as you, and it's usually worked ok, but in your case you may need to start from, well, scratch ...

https://www.catchat.org/index.php/new-cat-introductions

In this current heatwave this is going to be a right pain, but far better than allowing your older girl to become alienated and (worst case scenario) wander off and move in with someone else. Frankly I'd keep her in, and make a huge fuss of her - favourite food, let her sleep on the bed, tell her how much you love her, cuddle her - and of course you'll have to fuss kitten on the sly, out of sight and earshot of older cat.