need advice

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
angela135
New Cat Chatter

need advice

Post by angela135 »

Hi, I'm new to this forum. So, we bought bengal cat almost year ago. After 4 months he started escaping from our house. Two times we could find him for four days straight. Every time I go to work I'm afraid that I'm not gonna find him when I'm back.. Our vet recommended us cat gps tracker, I did a lot of research and I think this product could make my life a lot easier. Maybe you are using it to? What are pros and cons? Is it worth paying money? (link removed)
Last edited by Anonymous on Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: advertising link removed
alanc
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 1

Re: need advice

Post by alanc »

I have no experience of using any of these gadgets, though if my Badger were still alive, I might give serious thought to getting one.
I don't think there is enough information in those write ups to be able to decide which is best.
Some thoughts, however, based on experience with GPS systems and hunting for Badger:
You will need to know what the read out is - one which you can carry around to keep his location up to date will be much more useful than one you can only read at home. This will also enable you to negate some of the problems of short range gadgets as you can wander around until you get a signal.
GPS's do not work indoors or very well under dense vegetation. The gadget will need to give you the last known position so you can see which garage or thicket he has holed up in.
What kind of battery do they use and how expensive are they? You are going to need a lot of them or rechargeable ones. How easy they are to change will also be important, especially for the short battery life ones. Low battery indicators are also essential.