Diet advice

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
Mollycat
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 1

Diet advice

Post by Mollycat »

Newbie here hi everyone!
Quite a specific question. I have an 11 year old female indoor cat rescued 6 years ago. She has always tended to pile on the ounces. 2 years ago we put her on Hills Metabolic and she got down to a nice weight.
Last November she was diagnosed hyperthyroid on a routine blood screen. She showed no signs of weight loss (around 2% of cats don't and it just had to be her!) but it is confirmed and she has just had her full assessment for radioactive iodine treatment, which she is having in 3 weeks' time. There is already slight heart muscle thickening and changes in one eye. She has to go back to 'normal' food next week.
Question is, what is normal food?
She was on Butchers, and she got very fat.
She had 18 months on Hills Metabolic and I wonder if that might have contributed to her hyperthyroidism, as it's supposed to boost metabolism as well as being low calorie.
Restricting the amount she eats is not viable, she has severe psychological issues including becoming aggressive when her bowl is empty (hence the attraction of a calorie restricted food).
She will need a high protein food to rebuild muscle mass post treatment.
Vet recommends a good quality senior food but I'm not happy with the protein content of the ones I've looked at.
Any suggestions for a high protein low calorie senior wet and dry please?
I can supplement with a little raw low-fat muscle meat but an all raw diet is not an option.
Kay
VIP Cat Chatter!

Re: Diet advice

Post by Kay »

with 12% protein and 3% fat I don't think Felix AGAIL senior is a bad choice at all and is reasonably cheap and widely availabe
fjm
VIP Cat Chatter!

Post by fjm »