taking kitten to visit new litter????

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
newTOcats
Returning Cat Chatter

taking kitten to visit new litter????

Post by newTOcats »

Hi I'm new to cats so wanted some advice please...we got our first kitten a week ago she's 9 weeks now. We decided she should have a friend so we've found someone with a litter. Their kittens are 8weeks old and they won't let them go until 11_13 weeks but he said we can take our kitten in the mean time for a visit to get to know them. I'm a bit worried in case the adult cats (kittens are with mum and dad) hurt my kitten. Do you think it will be ok? X
KittyWitty
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 2

Re: taking kitten to visit new litter????

Post by KittyWitty »

anyway the mum and other adult cats can be shut out the room while kittens are meeting? Either way you will need to go through the introduction process when new cat comes home so is it really worth putting your resident cat through this stress?
newTOcats
Returning Cat Chatter

Post by newTOcats »

Will it be stressful? I thought the kitten would like to play with them. I think she misses her litter mates? X
KittyWitty
VIP Cat Chatter!

Post by KittyWitty »

Yeah it will be stressful taking the kitten to a brand new place with tonnes of different smells and other cats and the travelling to and from.

Personally I would not put my cats through that and as I said you'll need to do a introduction and bonding room in your own home when new kitty comes home anyway - it is unnecessary stress.

Have you looked up bonding room and introducing cats? If not here is some info:

http://www.catchat.org/hierarchies.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

http://www.catchat.org/bonding.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

It is very unwise to just put the kittens together and just expect everything to be OK.
Meandmymunki
VIP Cat Chatter!