elevated liver enzymes

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
mustafa811
VIP Cat Chatter!

elevated liver enzymes

Post by mustafa811 »

the cat past history you can jump directly to the recent problem down the post :
my cat is a 14 years old female that weighs 3.5 kg and lives strictly indoors, she used to eat friskies dry food all her life and the bowl was always full and filled so she can eat whenever she wants

when she reached 11 she had an incident of constipation in which she was examined by a vet that recommended presenting food in multiple smaller meals ,converting to royal canine which was a better alternative and introducing wet food , and the cat improved

a year later she started to drink alot and pee alot , since i am a physician i tried to measure its blood sugar with my glucometer and it was HI which is more than 550 mg/dl, we went to the vet and he advised to use royal canin diabetic formula , we used it for 2 weeks and sugar dropped from above 550 to 450 mg/dl, and the cat hind legs started to fail to jump, went to multiple vets and the only thing they did was recommending royal canin diabetic formula

anyway since i am a physician i started googling and discovered that cats can be put on our lantus insulin but with different metabolic curves , i also googled for the least carbohydrate foods out there and their availability in Egypt which was very hard since our pet market here is very limited in choices

some would ask me why didn't you turn to raw food , well i tried and the cat was very picky and she was refusing the food whatever we did

anyway after 4 months of low carb wet food and insulin the cat was almost diabetic free, and i stopped insulin , the cat stayed free for like 8 months and when we started to increase the wet food portions sugar level started to rise again to 200 so we sticked to multiple small meals which kept glucose levels in control 70-130