Advice needed urgently please my cat may be PTS!! :( :( :(

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
zayna1
New Cat Chatter

Advice needed urgently please my cat may be PTS!! :( :( :(

Post by zayna1 »

Hello.
I'm new here so forgive me if I have posted in the wrong place.
I really need some advice regarding my 6 year old cat. I'm in a panic so I will keep this as short as possible, but please please please try to read it all.

He is suspected to have been hit by a car. Found him in his bed on wednesday morning, shaking and holding his front left leg up. Left leg at the elbow bone was visible in a gaping wound. I had to rush him to the rspca vet as I am a student and am in some financial difficulties at the minute. My poor little mite, the vet basically said there are two options.

1. Possible reconstructive surgery, where there is no guarantee that it would work, as basically his elbow has been shattered into many pieces. Also this would cost around £3000 as a minimum and there is no way I could afford that.
2. Amputation. It's his right front left leg. I was in shock and disbelief when I heard. But I have been told cats get on very well.