Stray with a lump

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
Amyc
Returning Cat Chatter

Stray with a lump

Post by Amyc »

Hi,

I've been feeding a stray for approximately 6 months. I'm 99% sure she's stray but maybe once had an owner as she's not got pregnant and therefore must've been spayed at some point.

Anyway, the last two days I've noticed a large lump on her back, kind of where her hips would be. It's completely covered in fur so I can't see anything except for the outline of the lump covered by fur. She's only just letting me stroke her these days and it seemed hard to the touch. My issue is, if I get her to the vet it could be expensive and I don't have the money to pay for anything hugely dear. My own two have cost me an absolute fortune over the past 12 months. But I don't want to see her get ill with this thing. She seems sprightly and happy enough at the moment but it is alarming.
Does anyone know if charities help with this sort of situation?

Thank you in advance for your advice.

P.S. I'm not new but completely failed to remember my last username!
meriad
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 6

Re: Stray with a lump

Post by meriad »

If you can, then I'd recommend getting the cat to a vet, explaining when you make the appointment that you suspect the cat is a stray but that you are concerned about the lump. The vet will not only check for a microchip, but also - depending on the vet they probably won't charge for the initial quick once over / consultation. And if it turns out the cat isn't chipped and does require treatment you can discuss it with the vet how to proceed.
Meandmymunki
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 5

Post by Meandmymunki »

Or you can ring and explain to the RSPCA, they will often give you and the vet a log number so they cover the treatment.
bobbys girl
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 5

Post by bobbys girl »