cat litter issues

IMPORTANT: If your cat is in any distress or discomfort, please consult your own vet as your first priority.
Sandra b
Experienced Cat Chatter
No. of cats in household: 1

cat litter issues

Post by Sandra b »

Hi, I’ve been using World’s Best cat litter for a few years now for my 18yo boy Murphy. I use it as it’s soft, dust free, biodegradable and he likes it. I’ve had no issues at all up until a couple of months ago when he started getting wet after using his box. He has arthritis and I think he maybe sitting too low and getting wet litter and pee on him. Was wondering if anyone has had problems like this or if anyone can recommend another litter as there’s so many on the market. Thanks.
FeralMama
New Cat Chatter

Re: cat litter issues

Post by FeralMama »

Hi there from the US. I have not had this particular issue before, but I'm assuming he is on a arthritis supplement? If not, that may help him with his standing and using the litter box? Have you tried the litter crystals or Yesterdays News? Though if you switch, I would recommend taking it slow and gradually mix the two litters. Also, there are always puppy pee pads in place of litter if it gets too much. Good luck!

Tammy
Mollycat
VIP Cat Chatter!

Post by Mollycat »

All I can say is don't use a clumping clay type. If that gets on the back of his legs wet it sets like concrete. Might be better to find a way to help him stand better rather than change litter. We have only ever used clay types, clumping or non clumping, as the only time I tried something different no matter how slowly I tried to introduce it one cat refused point blank to use the tray once it got more than around a third not clay.

Just to add - this is from experience with a messy Ragdoll - I'll leave it at that.
Last edited by Mollycat on Sun Feb 14, 2021 9:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ruth B
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 3

Post by Ruth B »