Advice please: getting a new kitten for our bereaved kitten

For all your feline miscellany - any interesting stories, news or subjects that do not fit in the other sections.
loulouray
Returning Cat Chatter

Advice please: getting a new kitten for our bereaved kitten

Post by loulouray »

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting and would love some advice. Excuse the long post! We adopted two sibling kittens from the same litter very recently (a boy and a girl). They are now 13 weeks and seemed very close. Always playing together and snuggling together. Unfortunately, a couple of days ago, we had to take the girl to the vet for a procedure and she experienced a very rare reaction to anaesthesia. She stopped breathing and had a heart attack and while they resuscitated her it is now looking likely we will have to have her put to sleep as there has been significant brain damage. I am completely devastated even though we only knew her a very, very short time, not least as her brother no longer has his playmate. The first night he was calling for her. He no longer seems to be doing that now and is eating normally and is very affectionate and cuddly with us (before he was a bit more aloof).

I know introducing a kitten to another cat can be problematic, but do you think at such a young age, if we got another kitten roughly the same age, it would he preferable for him to have a playmate than be alone? At this young age would our existing kitten take on another non-litter kitten in the same way as he did his sibling? We would try to find another girl I think. We always envisaged having two sibling kittens who could grow up together and this is such a blow... any thoughts gratefully received as I've found loads of advice about bringing kittens into homes with existing older cats but nothing for similar aged kittens still so young. Thanks!
Mollycat
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 1

Re: Advice please: getting a new kitten for our bereaved kitten