New cat owner advice please

For all your feline miscellany - any interesting stories, news or subjects that do not fit in the other sections.
Anicca79
Frequent Cat Chatter

New cat owner advice please

Post by Anicca79 »

Hi everyone, I have adopted my first cat from a rescue centre and he has been with me a week now. I plan on letting him out in a few weeks but not just yet so he is an indoor cat. I have a problem. He has slightly overgrown claws (not to the point of causing him any discomfort I have kept a close eye) and I am concerned that I am going to have to cut his claws. I have bought him two different types of scratching post and the welcome mat indoors for him to scratch but he has shown no interest and is fairly disinterested in catnip too. I have laminate flooring throughout so not even carpet. Whilst I will cut them if I have to (I am very squeamish about it and worried about hurting him as I've never done it before!) I really don't want to! He lets me play with his back paws but pulls away and is unhappy with me touching the front ones. Am I going to have to put him through the ordeal of the vet or can it realistically wait about three weeks until he goes outside? Thanks!
Walesgang
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 4

Re: New cat owner advice please

Post by Walesgang »

Hello and welcome to cc.

Well done for adopting your cat. We are looking forward to getting to know you and your boy :)

What's his name by the way?

His feet/claws would have been checked before he was adopted. If they are not causing him any problems I would be tempted to leave alone for now. I never cut my cats' claws, but they do have access to a secure garden.

I would also suggest you keep,trying to persevere with getting him to use a scratch post/mat otherwise he is likely to use your furniture (my living room furniture has a definite cat scratch look to it :twisted:

Keep us posted

Val and Gang (henry, tips, squeak and grey)
JulieandBarney
VIP Cat Chatter!