10 years on

For all your feline miscellany - any interesting stories, news or subjects that do not fit in the other sections.
booktigger
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 3

10 years on

Post by booktigger »

I’ve been fostering for 10 years today! It hasn’t all been for the same charity though, I’ve fostered for 3 in total, but am back with the charity I started with 10 years ago. In that time I’ve fostered 178 cats/kittens, and now seem to do mostly mums and kittens, which is ironic as my second fosters were mum and 5 5week old kittens, and I hated it! For 7 years I had one litter a year, and every time I did it made me realise how much I didn’t like kittens. But a few years ago, due to being short of fosterers, I ended up with litter after litter, and while they are still hard work, I don’t mind them as much as I used to. I’ve made some fantastic friends, and fostering has helped me get through some rough times with my own cats.

My favourites though are the shy nervous ones, simple things that we take for granted with our own cats such as a purr, mean so much – you really know you have made such a difference to their lives. With mum and kittens, you know you have saved them from a short life of breeding. And then of course, the oldies whose lives I have literally saved by picking them up from the vet when their owners wanted them to be pts.

The sad part though is that the level of cats needing help seems to have gone up, rather than down, and homing seems to be going down rather than up.

Here’s to the next 10 years.
Jacks
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 7

Re: 10 years on

Post by Jacks »

My! 10 years of Fostering! That's quite an achievement in itself; I've read how hard others have found it - but to have seen 178 on their way to loving homes is amazing. Lot of heartache there as well as joy, I'm thinking.