Kitty outdoors

For all your feline miscellany - any interesting stories, news or subjects that do not fit in the other sections.
Lollycat
New Cat Chatter

Kitty outdoors

Post by Lollycat »

Morning all, this is my first time on this site. I have a 6 month old kitten, she’s upto date with her jabs, been spade and chipped but she’s desperate to go outside. We secured our garden and allowed her out, but once she’s free she finds a way out then over neighbors gardens and hides terrified. How can I get her used to the outside world safely.
Mollycat
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 1

Re: Kitty outdoors

Post by Mollycat »

What is it she's afraid of, do you know? Does she go there all happy and then panic she can't get home, or is she running from home to find somewhere to hide? Sorry that last bit sounds horrible, I don't mean desperate to run away from home I mean if she wants to be outside but your garden is scary so she would rather be in the neighbours' garden?
Lollycat
New Cat Chatter

Post by Lollycat »

She’s not afraid of us or her home, she just goes off exploring then realises she doesn’t recognise her surroundings, so hides. Luckily I do not let her out of sight.
Mollycat
VIP Cat Chatter!

Post by Mollycat »

Ok it should be quite easy to help her then, with a little time patience and practice. When she hides do you go and get her, or call her? If you don't already, I would call her and let her figure out the way home from lots of different places. At first you will probably have to show your face then gradually as she builds up confidence go back to your door so that she eventually learns to come when you call her from the doorstep. You have to let her figure things out for herself to build her resilience and confidence and most of all her skills and thinking processes.