Devastated, completely heartbroken

Help & Support for those who have lost a beloved cat
Jamie99
New Cat Chatter

Devastated, completely heartbroken

Post by Jamie99 »

So this morning I had the biggest shock of my life, my beautiful baby of just over a year old. I found dead in the garden shed. I checked him over for any obvious marks but found nothing. My mind bongles on and on with what could’ve possibly happened to him. Maybe internal injuries from being hit from a car, maybe heart issues or maybe the rumours of one of our neighbours being a poisoner is true. I don’t know if I want to lay him peacefully to rest or get a post mortem done to found out exactly what’s happened,

completely heartbroken

R.I.P Cosmo
Kay
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 1

Re: Devastated, completely heartbroken

Post by Kay »

how horrible for you - I can totally understand your shock

I am no expert, but would have thought there would have been some evidence of poisoning - I have had a cat killed on the road with no sign of injuries, and sudden death from a heart condition does happen

as for a post mortem, I think I would want one if I had a sibling, in case of a hereditary condition, but even then a thorough check over by the vet would probably answer any such questions

sometimes we have to just accept horrible things, and try not to prolong the turmoil not knowing what happened brings - and personally I have found planning a special spot in the garden for a beloved cat has been a start to coming to terms with the loss
Bertie 2017
VIP Cat Chatter!

Post by Bertie 2017 »

Hi so sorry for your loss , it’s natural to have these thoughts when things happen suddenly ,
Now I am not saying ,something bad hadn’t happened ,because believe me ,some people ,
Can be cruel and unkind to animals , as for a post Mortum if you feel it will give you the
Answers you seek ,then do it ,it will spare you a lot of pain from blaming yourself for it ,