Our lovely Giggsy

Help & Support for those who have lost a beloved cat
CIHALL
Frequent Cat Chatter

Our lovely Giggsy

Post by CIHALL »

Hi there

I've never used this sort of thing of before and was overwhelmed with the great support and kind people that are out there.

We said goodbye to our beautiful cat Giggsy (named after my wife's favourite footballer) 4 weeks ago. He had inoperable Lymphoma and we had to have him put to sleep.

I'd like to talk about him if I may. He picked us as a kitten at the Cat Protection shelter, strutting out as a 7 week old kitten and using his litter tray to show us he was house trained. From that point on he was the centre of our world. It was always the 3 of us against the world. We'd eat together, play in the garden together, share the same bed; Giggsy would lie in between us each night and had the cutest little snore. Our life revolved him and we loved that little ball of fur more than anything in the world.

And now he's gone, it's really sad. I really can't believe this has happened. He'd lost a bit of weight but was eating fine, playing fine and doing all the things he'd always done. I took him to the vets and they said he had a large lump. An x-ray and biopsy confirmed 2 malignant sites and within a week he had deteriorated. His last week was so sad, my wife or I up with him in the night making sure he was ok, which he was, or seemed to be. He had his usual 'catitude' as I called it if one of moved in the bed and disturbed his slumber. Apart from some weight loss, no one would ever have known.

Then on his last day, he started the morning fine, eating and going to the toilet. But by the late afternoon, his breathing had gotten bad and he was hiding away barley able to look up. The horrible lumps were pressing on his lungs and was struggling. Our little fella was slipping away from us. So we took him in and I could tell from the vet's look, the time had come. So we made the decision to let him go, so hard it was.