Fear aggressive foster cat

Queries and discussions about cat rescue & rehoming
tlovesallanimals
New Cat Chatter

Fear aggressive foster cat

Post by tlovesallanimals »

Hi everyone,

First would like to say I'm new to the foster world, so thought I would give it a go as the Cat Haven is desperate and there's big overcrowding issues. I've always had cats and used to tame feral cats when I lived in the middle east many years ago.

So, my first foster cat Charlie Cat is 2 and was identified as timid, shy and was not doing well at the haven. I've taken him in and out him in the spare bedroom. I have a dog and a cat of my own, so Charlie cat has not had free reign over the house.

I've had him for 4 weeks and it's been a really tough run. Within the first week, I had to take him back to the cat haven to get his yearly vaccinations. I begged the foster coordinator to make it later, but due to comprised immunity she said no and that it had to be at this time. I had to trap him, not fun and coax him into his carrier.

While at the vet, the vet wrapped him in a towel and forced him to be petted. He also has a slight eye infection that requires him to get eye ointment.

I released him back in the spare bedroom and continued to sit in the room for 1-2 hours per day, talking gently, feliway diffuser is going, I'm using hemp chewables, using cat calming music as well as catnip spray.

I contacted the cat haven and said I've been unable to give the eye ointment to Charlie Cat, as he was so traumatised from me trapping him to go to his vet appointment. Foster coordinator said he really needs his eye drops and I just need to drape a towel over him and put the ointment in.