Building a home for ferals

Queries and discussions about cat rescue & rehoming
feralking
New Cat Chatter

Building a home for ferals

Post by feralking »

Hi,

I've been caring for a colony of 5 feral cats for a few years and they've been living in my garden in what was once a summer house. Cats protection along with a local cat rescue charity helped in catching and neutering the cats and they are all pretty healthy and have become fairly trusting.
The summer house is currently in a very bad state and won't last much longer and I would really like to provide them with a more stable and insulated home. I can't bring them inside as they won't step foot inside and if they did my 2 domestic cats would become very distressed about this (my youngest is already not very fond of them!) and as I was unsuccessful in finding a charity willing to take them and re-home them my only option is to keep them in the garden so a shelter for them is very important.

I'm hoping someone out there can provide me with some help and advice as to how and where I can find a shelter suitable to house them. I feel pretty lost at the moment because I just don't know where to begin and don't have any funding for this project so it will take some time to save up, so I really need to do this on as small a budget as possible.

Any help and advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance.
Meandmymunki
VIP Cat Chatter!
No. of cats in household: 5

Re: Building a home for ferals

Post by Meandmymunki »