Lincs. Ark Animal Welfare
Rehoming Cats & Kittens: Lincolnshire

Name: Mabel aka Mardy Bum
Species: Domestic Short Haired Cat
Colour: White
Born: July 2016
Credentials: Neutered, vaccinated, microchipped and upto date with flea and worm treatment

Personal Statement: I am a pretty anti social cat who likes my own company and the great outdoors. I set my own boundaries and like to keep a low profile.

Previous experience: I was reluctantly taken into the care of Lincs Ark when I was just 8 weeks old. My mummy was apparently 'feral' and I already had many of her traits. Despite the very kind efforts and warm welcome I received I decided that being very cautious and a little bit anxious was more my style which made settling in a bit hard to be honest. Finally I decided, after watching my brother and the other cats I would try to mingle, I would join in at meal times and occasionally find a warm body to snuggle up against, however I remained on edge and sudden movements would make me jump and run. Once I matured and had been on a little trip to the vets the humans started to let me outside, I suddenly had my eyes opened to the exciting big outside world, the feeling from my roots suddenly felt familiar. Being outside was so much more me, I am an independent girl and I like to scurry around minding my own business, I expect others to do the same. I even went on mystery magical tour for a whole month however that seems to have landed me in long term grounding.....

Reference: Mabel is a pretty little girl who has the potential to be a great addition to right setting. She has always been very shy and anxious which in turn has in turn left her independent and the self inflicted outcast. When she was very young there was a chance she could make a sweet and lovely companion, however, as soon as she grew up and got the chance to experience the outside world that all went out the window with her. She became elusive and mysterious, coming home only under darkness to eat and sleep before vanishing in to the new day all over again. She celebrated her first birthday by going on a month long adventure, oblivious to the concerns of us mere humans as to whether she would ever come back at all. After a few sightings it was obvious that Mabel was back in the neighbourhood, albeit looking worse for wear, she was now acting more like a feral than domestic pet, apparently it is in her genes. Slowly, very slowly she began to come for tea again, not in the house though, just in the shed, although she still wasn't sleeping in there in the warm and dry, instead choosing the neighbours picnic table as her only shelter. With lots of patience and persistence Mabel started to come when called and finally we were able to trap her and bring her inside before the harsh snowy spell. Obviously tired from her epic winter adventures she initially seemed grateful to be inside in the warm, purring and rolling over for tummy tickles, the most affectionate in her short life. However, as she got her strength up and after a few weeks being kept inside her old self was appearing again, she has since become withdrawn and basically appears miserable.

In review: Unfortunately Mabel's current home is not an ideal base for wandering and an outdoor cat to be, there are multiple plans for new housing developments in the immediate vicinity that Mabel likes to explore. At present it is suggested that Mabel is not allowed to return outside in her current home as if she goes back to her old ways she will be greatly disrupted by the impending building works. Due to her current mood and mardy little face, keeping her inside in not an option, it just not fair on her. As she is less than 2 years old it has painfully been decided that she deserves the opportunity to be relocated to a much more rural location. Her next humans will ideally be adults only with preferably no other pets as this could be a factor is her reluctance to relax in the current home.

If you think you have the perfect home to offer Mabel and promise not expect too much from her in return just in case she does't change then we would love to hear from you.

  • Status:Needs Home
  • Gender: Female
  • Fur colour:White
  • Age(When Added):2 Year(s) Old
  • Neutered/Spayed:Neutered
  • Indoor/OutdoorOutdoor/Feral
  • Can live with children: Not Sure
  • Can live with dogs: Yes
  • Can live with other cats: Yes
When contacting us, please mention that you found us through our Cat Chat Homing Page - thank you!