Cats Protection - Bedford, Biggleswade & District
Contact
Rehoming Cats & Kittens: Bedfordshire
Xena
Xena is an affectionate black & white female who came into our care due to her owner being unable to look after her. She is estimated to be about 13 years old.
 
Xena can be shy to start with, but she just needs to feel confident with you. Xena’s favourite pastime is to find somewhere warm to snooze, preferably soaking up some sun too.
 
Despite being older, she does play with her toys when she's in the mood normally when no one is watching.
 
When Xena first came into our care she had a flea allergy, which meant she had lots of scabs and was very itchy. However, this can be managed by ensuring she has regular prescription flea treatment.
 
Xena does have a condition called hyperthyroidism, but this is now stable, so she needs is her medication squirted into her mouth every morning and evening. She will also need a blood test every 6 months, just to make sure everything is still stable, but you could get some help from Cats Protection for this. You can read more about hyperthyroidism here >>>
https://www.cats.org.uk/uploads/documents/cat-care-leaflets-2013/VG12_Hyperthyroidism-web.pdf
 
Xena is loving but not too keen on picking up and cuddles, but she does like being around people.
 
Xena is looking for a home with children 10 years and older. She could also live with another cat, if introduced properly, but she needs a home with no dogs. She will also need a home away from busy roads and railways.
 
Xena is neutered, microchipped and is fully vaccinated.
 
To begin with Xena will need to have a safe, secure, quiet room of her own. A room where she can have a separate area for food and water. For a litter tray placed as far away as possible from her food and water. For somewhere to hide, access to a high spot where she can view her surroundings, a suitable place to sleep or, ideally, a choice of them, a scratching post and a few cat toys and space for her to play. She will also need a Feliway diffuser in her room, as she will likely hide away for a few days when she goes to her new home.


If you are interested in adopting Xena, please apply via our website - https://www.cats.org.uk/bedford/adopt-a-cat?cid=320954

Due to Hands Free Homing we are currently only able to home in the area covered by our branch, postcodes MK40-MK45 and SG15-SG19. Click here to read more about the Hands Free Homing process
Information
  • Status:Needs Home
  • Gender: Female
  • Fur colour:Black & White
  • Fur length:Shorthaired
  • Age(When Added):13 Year(s) Old
  • Neutered/Spayed:Neutered
  • Indoor/OutdoorAccess to Outdoors
  • Can live with children: Yes
  • Can live with dogs: No
  • Can live with other cats: Yes
When contacting us, please mention that you found us through our Cat Chat Homing Page - thank you!