Cats Protection - Stranraer & District
Contact
Rehoming Cats & Kittens: Dumfries & Galloway
Basil
Basil is a cat who has never had the right situation offered to him and as a result has had a degree of anxiety in his life.
He has always been kept as a house cat and neutered later in life, which we feel has created a need to misplace his energy. The key to his future happiness is that he gradually discovers the joys of the great outdoors. His last situation also had several dogs in the picture and this certainly caused a level of stress for him.
Whilst being in our care he has become an incredibly affectionate cat but a lot of work has been done with him and this needs to be continued by his next owner. He will continue to need careful handling until he has built a bond and trust with his new owner. It has been a pleasure to watch him discover the garden and birds from his pen, to see him observe what he may be able to experience in his future life.

He always gives his fosterer a lovely greeting, once he's enjoyed his food, he loves to have a half hour lap sit, do a bit of grooming and then get down for a play. He is a large cat and can be clumsy to say the least! He does need to engage in play that stimulates him to engage his cat instincts. He can have misplaced energy, but we feel once he starts to discover the great outdoors and a bit of natural hunting this will go.

Basil is a cat who has never been properly understood and it would be lovely to find him his soul mate in his new owner. We do feel he may be a ladies cat and not great with too many people about the house. So a single person, preferably a lady, or a couple, but the household must be a quiet one without too much going on. Certainly no other pets, he does need to be the only one. He would also not cope in a busy residential area, we are looking for a home with a very private and quiet garden, where he won't have to contend with too many situations going on around him. For the right owner, he will be a very rewarding cat to share his journey with.
Information
  • Status:Needs Home
  • Gender: Male
  • Fur colour:Black & White
  • Age(When Added):5 Year(s) Old
  • Neutered/Spayed:Neutered
  • Indoor/OutdoorAccess to Outdoors
  • Can live with children: No
  • Can live with dogs: No
  • Can live with other cats: No
When contacting us, please mention that you found us through our Cat Chat Homing Page - thank you!