Consett Cat Rescue
Contact
Rehoming Cats & Kittens: Co. Durham
LINDIE
LINDIE

Born in July 2017.
She was born to a tame mother in a house on a council estate at Lanchester, Co Durham. However this family did not really look after their cats and as soon as she could walk he was able to toddle off outdoors with her brother, Trevor. She was never really handled at all by the owners of the mother cat and was really left to play and fend for herself. As time passed they grew apart from mum and of course started staying outside longer and becoming feral cats. By the time we managed to trap them, they were aged around 6 months old and we thought they were too old to attempt to tame and rehome so we planned on a simple trap, neuter, ear tip (we always ear tip released ferals) and they would then be released. However the woman who fed them put a massive spanner in the works by declaring she did not want them back in her garden leaving us with two feral junior cats, by now ear tipped and we had to try and find them a farm home at the very least.

As time went on, nowhere suitable was found and so we vaccinated them and did our best to get them to "come round" to being tame cats. Of course the fact they are both still advertised here tells you we never did manage to get them to be totally tame and they cannot be classed as feral either. They would no longer be suitable for a farm home as they both like their home comforts too much.

A suitable home would be one where they can be indoor cats or with access to a secure outdoor garden. Given time and if they came round to new owners (this may take some time), then yes they may be given free range and allowed full outdoor access but this would only be recommended when they were at a stage of trusting an owner and would come in when called and be able to be picked up easily by owners etc. Until that point in their lives, an indoor only or a secure garden is all I would consider.

She is a slightly more active cat than her brother and a bit more curious. She can be very playful with the other cats and I think any owner will see this side of her once she has settled in. 

She does need a quiet home so no small children at all. She is likely used to dogs but we have no dogs with which to test her out on. She could be an only cat or can live with another cat as long as they got on together.

At time of typing (December 18), I still cannot pick her up although I am able to manage a few strokes when I am feeding her and when she is asleep at the top of a tall cat tree, I can also sneak a little stroke. If you can get her where she will not run away off the cat tree, then she will allow these strokes although is constantly alert for you trying to do more than just stroke her. She is very wary and very fast. She is a large cat too.

She is chipped, vaccinated and neutered and we keep the flea and worm treatment up to date.

The adoption fee is £90 and you will need to complete a questionnaire which I will email to you upon request.
Information
  • Status:Needs Home
  • Gender: Female
  • Fur colour:Tabby / Tortie
  • Breed: Moggy
  • Age(When Added):1 Year(s) Old
  • Neutered/Spayed:Neutered
  • Can live with children: No
  • Can live with dogs: Not Sure
  • Can live with other cats: Yes
When contacting us, please mention that you found us through our Cat Chat Homing Page - thank you!