Wythall Animal Sanctuary
Contact
Rehoming Cats & Kittens: West Midlands
Annie
 

Hello my name is Annie and I came into the sanctuary in November last year after I was sadly dumped outside the sanctuary gates one evening in a carrier. There is therefore no known history on me.

I was understandably a little stressed when I came in and it took me a bit of time to settle. I soon started to come out of my shell and show my sweet and fun personality. I am a loving girl and do love attention and affection on my terms. I will gently tell you when I’m no longer in the mood for attention with a little tap or nip. My new humans will need to be patient with me whilst getting to know my personality. I will always come back for more loves when I am ready. My carers think I have such a playful, fun and loving personality and will bring lots of joy to someone. I love to play with my toys and I mostly enjoy the feather teaser toys! I can get a little bit wary at times but in a calm pet free home my carer thinks I will show my true adorable self but I just need that chance! I am such a sweet young girl and have been so overlooked and have been waiting far too long for my forever home!
 

I am looking for either an adult only home or a home with sensible children over 12 years old that will understand my boundaries and give me my space when I want it.

I have met a few cats here at the sanctuary and although I dont mind a select few of them I soon get a bit fed up and grumpy around them and much prefer my own company so I would rather be the only cat in the home. I would also not like to live with a dog. My ideal home is being loved and spoilt as a solo pet!

I am ideally looking for a home as a strictly INDOOR only cat as long as the home is spacious enough for me and I have lots of enrichment such as cat trees, cat furniture and cat toys to keep me entertained.

(I Could possibly be homed to have SAFE outdoor access if bowel issues are still settled after at least a 6 Month period strictly indoors) A secured catio or cat proofed garden would be even better. Home and road check applies. 


Medical history…

Annie has unfortunately been at the sanctuary a little longer than expected due to a health issue she was dealing with. She has been a lot better over the last 8 months and is a much happier and healthier girl now.

Annie was having mucousy loose poos quite frequently at the start of this year. She had blood tests and an ultrasound scan done to rule out any other causes but the results of these were normal. The vet suspected she might have IBD which is a common bowel disorder in cats (Inflammatory bowel disease) however this was not a certain diagnosis and after many months of monitoring Annie’s toileting and eating patterns we definitely think it is more stress related. Annie was quite anxious and did appear quite stressed and unhappy in the sanctuary environment for a while so we think her bowel issues stemmed from this although we just cannot know for sure.

Annie was responding well to small doses of steroid treatment earlier in the year but was weaned off them a while ago now because she was doing a lot better. She may require treatment again in the future if she has any flare ups. Annie does still occasionally have some softer poos and will sometimes scoot her bottom on the floor to clean herself next to her tray (she always uses her tray to toilet though).

A potential adopter will need to be prepared that Annie’s bowel issue will not be covered by insurance providers as it is pre-existing. We can further discuss this with anyone interested in adopting Annie.

Bowel issues like Annie’s can be managed very well and effectively particularly in young cats and Annie has really improved over the last 6-7 months and has not required any further vet visits or treatment for this issue.

At the end of October Annie was moved from a pen into her own room due to being with us for so long. She developed urinary crystals days later possibly from the stress of this change. She has been on a urinary food for thre last two months which has worked wonders to dissolve the crystals. Her retest results came back as all clear!

 

Information
  • Status:Needs Home
  • Gender: Female
  • Fur colour:Tabby & White
  • Fur length:Shorthaired
  • Age(When Added):2 Year(s) Old
  • Neutered/Spayed:Neutered
  • Indoor/OutdoorIndoor Only
  • Can live with children: Not Sure
  • Can live with dogs: No
  • Can live with other cats: No
When contacting us, please mention that you found us through our Cat Chat Homing Page - thank you!